Your Math Journal

A Math Journal is a way of keeping your math work organized, so you can self-assess what you have learned.  A journal entry should be written at the end of each math exercise. The math journal entries should take no more than 5 minutes.

Every journal entry becomes a record of the experience received from the specific math exercise

Daily journal prompts:

  • I solved the problem by ___
  • I can check my answer by ___
  • The strategy I used was ___
  • Another strategy I could use would be ___
  • The first thing I did was ___
  • Today’s lesson helped me to understand ___
  • I learned that ___
  • I would    use this in my real life when ___
  • I know that __ is __ because __.
  • I knew I was right when……
  • The best way to solve this problem would be___
  • First ___    next ___ then  ___ after that ___

 

Organizing Your Math  Journal

Section 1: Vocabulary /Frayer models  (Vocabulary sheets for each unit) 

Section 2: Notes (All of the notes you take in class)

Section 3: Homework (Homework assignments)

Section 4: Quizzes/Tests

Comments are closed.