My dearest children

STAARSo, while you are preparing for and sitting the Math STAAR test, I want you to know that the scores you will get from this test will tell you something, but they will not tell you everything. Remember that there is no way to “test” all of the amazing and awesome things that make each of you special and unique. The people who create these tests and score them do not know each of you like I do. They do not know that despite dealing with hard circumstances, you still come to school with a smile. They do not know that you can be very trustworthy, kind, and thoughtful and that you try every day to be your very best. Show them what you are made of!  Show off!

I want you to know that you have my full confidence. All I ask is that you do your own personal best and do not give up, not only on this test but in any challenge you may face in your life. Focus on every question, use the strategies you have learned and believe in yourself. You will do your best because that is who you are!

I want you to take a moment to remember your first day in my class. Then, I said that my goal was not just to pass the STAAR, but for you to develop a successful attitude toward life and school. At the end of the year, what you will look back on and remember will not be these tests, but all of the learning and growing that you have done this year.

Now I want you to think of what you have accomplished throughout this year. I am so impressed with how much you have grown and how much more you respect yourself. I deeply admire your increased confidence, perseverance, and willingness and determination to try new things.

I want you to know that you have made me very proud to be your teacher. I feel rather like a proud parent! I have enjoyed sharing this journey with you. I have watched all of you grow in attitude and in Math skills. I am very proud of you, as you have demonstrated huge commitment and tried your very best during this school year.

Whatever the outcome, I want you to know that I am already proud of who you are, of what you have accomplished, and of the impact you have had on my life. In terms of academic ability, I would say that ALL of you have grown from having basic skills to having the highest level of sixth-grade skills in Math. All of you have gained staying power, and every time I have raised the bar, you have risen to the challenge. 

You are the light that brightens my day!

I will always love all of you.

Mrs. Garcia

 

 

Comments are closed.